Women in Resources Awards

Established in 2010, the Women in Resources Awards (WIRA) recognise individuals and organisations working to build a world-class industry which provides attractive career opportunities and enhances the recognition and participation of women in the sector. 

The entry process encourages individuals and companies to reflect on their achievements and the impact they have made to help encourage the participation of women in the WA resources sector. Click here to view the selection criteria.

1. Nominations

Nominations open on 28 September 2018. Candidates are nominated by a colleague, professional contact or company.  Nominations can be completed online

2. Close of Nominations

Nominations close on 12 November 2018 at 5.00pm.

3. Nomination Workshop

CME will host a nomination workshop to assist companies and nominators in planning and preparing  nominations for the 2018 awards. The lunchtime workshop  will be held on Wednesday 10 October from 12noon to 1pm. For further details about the nomination workshop or to register your attendance, please email Susan at      

4. Finalists Announced

Finalists will be announced in mid-January 2019.

5.    Presentation Dinner Event

2019 marks the 10th anniversary of the Women in Resources Awards and CME is planning an exciting dinner event to celebrate 10 years of recognising the power of diversity in the Western Australian Resources sector. 

Award finalists will be honoured and winners announced at the dinner on Friday, 15 March 2019, hosted once again by popular media personality and political commentator, Annabel Crabb. If you would like to be notified when CME opens registrations, please email

For full details of the 2019 Women in Resources Awards or to begin the nomination process, CLICK HERE.

Missed out on the 2018 awards presentation or wish to re-live it again? You can by clicking here.


CME would like to invite sponsorship for the 2019 Women in Resources  Awards, including Inspiring Girls sponsorship - a targeted initiative to attract more school-aged girls into careers in the resources sector. 

Sponsorship of the Women in Resources Awards will enable CME to continue to advocate the value of a gender diverse workforce in the WA resources sector. More information about sponsorship opportunities can be found in the sponsorship prospectus

To download the sponsorship application, click here.


  • Women in Resources Champion (male or female) 
  • Outstanding Company Initiative
  • Outstanding Woman in Resources
  • Outstanding Young Woman in Resources
    (Aged 30 years or younger as at 31 December 2018)
  • Outstanding Operator/Technician/Trade Woman. 

To view the Selection Criteria for each category click here.

Past winners

Women in Resources Champion
2018 - Veena Mendez
2017 - John Galvin
2016 - Michael Schoch
2015 - Linda O'Farrell
2014 - Stuart Forrester
2013 - Julie Shuttleworth
2012 - Joanne Farrell
2011 - Kate Sommerville
2010 - Sabina Shugg

Outstanding Woman in Resources
2018 - Peta Libby
2017 - Vanessa Torres
2016 - Claire Negus
2015 - Bronwyn Barnes
2014 - Kyra Bonney
2013 - Vanessa Guthrie
2012 - Margaret Watroba
2011 - Maryanne Kelly
2010 - Kellie Parker

Outstanding Young Woman in Resources
2018 - Dhakshi Weerawardena
2017 - Rachel Leong
2016 - Megan Kline
2015 - Kalpana Maharage
2014 - Heidi Edwards
2013 - Jenna Robertson
2012 - Katrina Bukauskus

Outstanding Operator / Technician / Trade Woman
2018 - Nicole O'Keefe
2017 - Sharron Freitas
2016 - Yvonne Fahey
2015 - Margeaux Janenko
2014 - Emma Stevenson
2013 - Jodie Gray
2012 - Natasha Cann
2011 - Kym Jones

Outstanding Company Initiative
2018 - Rio Tinto - White Ribbon Accreditation
2017 - Shell Australia - Closing the Gender Pay Gap
2016 - BHP Billiton Nickel West - Job Sharing in Senior Leadership
2015 - Atlas Iron - Women in Atlas
2014 - St Barbara Ltd - Eliminating the Equity Pay Gap
2013 - Chevron - Women in Engineering
2012 - Newmont Boddington Gold - Driving Force
2011 - BHP Billiton - Pilbara Childcare Strategy
2010 - Woodside Energy

People's Choice Award
2018 - Shannon Youd
2017 - Sharron Freitas
2016 - Suzan Drake-Brockman
2015 - Geeta Thakorlal
2014 - Rachel Mottram
2013 - Julie Shuttleworth
2012 - Dannielle Bancroft

Recognition of Lifetime Achievement
Georgina Rinehart
Maureen Muggeridge
Erica Smyth