CME's AGM elects new President

The Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia (CME) has announced Jeroen Buren, Senior Vice President Production at Woodside Energy, has been elected as CME’s President at today’s Annual General Meeting.

Jeroen has been in the role since the departure in March of former CME President Brian Reilly, who had served as CME President since July 2013.

Edgar Basto from BHP Billiton, George Bauk from Northern Minerals and Ivan Vella from Rio Tinto were all endorsed as Vice-Presidents of CME at the meeting.

CME Chief Executive, Reg Howard-Smith, welcomed the appointments and said 2017 would be another busy year for CME as it continued to promote the importance of the resources sector and the extent of its contributions to Western Australian communities.

“In an ever-evolving political landscape, it is imperative the voice of our industry is heard by key decision makers, to ensure the WA resources sector continues to thrive and benefit all Australians,” Mr Howard-Smith said.

“Our priorities include:

  • Mining Act Reform;
  • the implementation of FIFO and Mental Health Inquiry Recommendations;
  • Regional Development;
  • the implementation of the new Environmental Protection Authority’s Policy and Procedures Framework;
  • Department of Environmental Regulation Industry Licensing Reform; and
  • a Mine Closure and Relinquishment Policy Framework.

“We look forward to working with the State Government to ensure that policy makers understand the interests of the WA resources sector as they consider issues vital to the sector’s long-term sustainability and growth.”