CMEWA Inc - Councils and Standing Committees


Executive Council

The management and control of the business and affairs of CME is vested in the Executive Council, a board of CME member company representatives elected annually at the Annual General Meeting.

CME's Executive Council comprises the most influential leaders of the Western Australian resources sector.

The Executive Council is CME's policy making body and plays an important role in decision making on key strategic policy issues being addressed by CME. At the highest level, the role of Executive Council is to:

  • Approve policy
  • Approve longer term strategy
  • Be a forum for issues
  • Review macro performance.

CME's Executive Council for 2014/15 is:


Brian Reilly, Cameco Australia.

Vice Presidents

  • Julius Matthys, BHP Billiton Iron Ore 
  • Nev Power, Fortescue Metals Group
  • Jeroen Buren, Woodside Energy Ltd.


  • Simon Butterworth, Alcoa of Australia
  • Mike Erickson, AngloGold Ashanti Australia
  • Peter Winter, API Joint Venture 
  • Ken Brinsden, Atlas Iron Ltd
  • Peter Stokes, Barminco
  • Blair Duncan, BC Iron Limited
  • Greg Heylen, BGC Contracting
  • Paul Harvey, BHP Billiton Nickel West
  • Brian Reilly, Cameco Australia
  • Peter Fairclough, Chevron Australia
  • Chen Zeng, CITIC Pacific Limited
  • Robin Antrobus, Conoco Phillips Australia
  • Anthony Cribb, Dampier Bunbury Pipeline
  • Mike Ferraro, Doral Pty Ltd
  • Peter Bamford, Doray Minerals Ltd
  • Mike Sutton, Downer EDI Mining
  • Nev Power, Fortescue Metals Group Limited
  • John Galvin, Georgiou Group Ltd
  • Dale Harris, Gindalbie Metals Ltd
  • Wayne Ashworth, Glencore – Murrin Murrin Operations Pty Ltd
  • Richard Weston, Gold Fields Australia Pty Ltd
  • Garry Green, Iluka Resources Limited
  • Russell Cole, Kalgoorlie Consolidated Gold Mines (KCGM)
  • David Trench, Lanco Resources Australia Pty Ltd
  • Steven Keyser, Leighton Contractors Pty Ltd
  • Ross Carroll, Macmahon Contractors Pty Ltd
  • Pierre Malan, Minerals and Metals Group (MMG)
  • Steve Cowle, Newcrest Mining Limited
  • Michael Bisset, Newmont Asia Pacific
  • George Bauk, Northern Minerals Ltd
  • Dianmin Chen, Norton Gold Fields Limited
  • Colin Moffatt, Premier Coal Limited
  • David Joyce, Rio Tinto Limited
  • Paul Ryan, Shell Development (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • Phil Allsopp, Sinosteel Midwest Corporation Limited
  • Damien O’Reilly, Thiess Australian Mining
  • Vanessa Guthrie, Toro Energy Limited
  • Jarvas Croome, WesTrac Pty Ltd
  • Jeroen Buren, Woodside Energy Ltd. 

Management Committee

CME's Management Committee determines the important issues and the agenda of the organisation. The role of the Management Committee is to:

  • Ensure compliance and the safety of the organisation
  • Set the strategic direction
  • Contribute to and approve the strategy
  • Approve and oversee the execution of the business plan
  • Management of the organisation.

Standing Committees

CME is structured to pursue its objectives through complementary programs in safety and health, land access, people strategies, environment, infrastructure and economics. Policy decisions on these matters are made by the Executive Council with input from a number of Standing Committees and key advisory groups.

In addition to Standing Committees, CME runs working groups on specific issues affecting the mining industry, and forums in Environment, Occupational Safety and Health to facilitate the sharing of information and ideas.

Visit the Portfolios page to find out more about the Standing Committees operating in each of these areas.

Regional Councils

CME recognises the importance of the resource sector in the state's regions and the active promotion of its role in the community.

CME's five Regional Councils provide forums for regionally based managers and an opportunity for input into CME's decision making process. The Councils are drawn from the following regions of Western Australia:

  • Eastern Regional Council
  • Mid West Regional Council
  • North Eastern Regional Council
  • North West Regional Council
  • South West Regional Council
  • Kimberley Regional Council.

Visit the In the Regions page to find out more about the Councils operating in each of these regions.




  • The Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia
    Phone: +61 8 9220 8500

In this section: